Award for "Hanoi-Warsaw"

At the December 4 awards ceremony in Tallinn, the short feature Hanoi-Warszawa (Hanoi-Warsaw) by Katarzyna Klimkiewicz received the award for European Film Academy Short Film. Awards of the European Film Academy are among Europe’s most prestigious film trophies.


Hanoi-Warsaw is the story of a young Vietnamese woman, who crosses the border into Poland illegally, then tries to make it to Warsaw to see her boyfriend. The film was made as part of the “Młode kadry” competition of Telewizja Kino Polska. It was co-produced by Mastershot Studio, the Film 1.2 Association, the Polish Filmmakers Association, and the Munk Studio.

The film was nominated for the European Film Award by the jury of the 33rd Norwegian Short Film Festival in Grimstad.


Other winners of the 23rd European Film Awards:

  • European Film 2010: Ghost Writer (France / Germany / United Kingdom), directed by Roman Polański;

  • European Director 2010: Roman Polański (Ghost Writer);

  • European Actress 2010: Sylvie Testud (Lourdes);

  • European Actor 2010: Ewan McGregor (Ghost Writer);

  • European Screenwriter 2010: Robert Harris and Roman Polański (Ghost Writer);

  • Carlo di Palma European Cinematographer Award: Bejach Giora (Lebanon);

  • European Editor 2010: Barnier Luc and Marion Monnier (Carlos);

  • European Production Designer 2010: Albrecht Konrad (Ghost Writer);

  • European Composer 2010: Alexandre Desplat (Ghost Writer);

  • European Discovery 2010 – Prix FIPRESCI: Lebanon (Israel / Germany / France), written and directed by Samuel Maoz;

  • European Film Academy Documentary – Prix ARTE 2010: Nostalgia de la Luz (France / Germany / Chile), directed by Patricio Guzmán;

  • European Film Academy Animated Feature Film: The Illusionist, directed by Sylvain Chomet;

  • European Co-Production Award – Prix EURIMAGES 2010: Zeynep Özbatur Atakan (producer);

  • European Film Academy Lifetime Achievement Award: Bruno Ganz (actor);

  • European Achievement in World Cinema: Gabriel Yared (composer);

  • People’s Choice Award for Best European Film 2010: Mr. Nobody, directed by Jaco van Dormael

Translated by Karolina Kołtun