"11 Minutes" in Main Competition in Venice

11 minut (11 Minutes), the latest film by director Jerzy Skolimowski, will have its world premiere in Main Competition at the 72nd Venice International Film Festival, which runs from September 2 through September 12, 2015. The film was co-financed by the Polish Film Institute.

Jerzy Skolimowski’s Latest Feature in Venice Main Competition

The lineup of the upcoming 72nd Venice International Film Festival was announced on July 29, 2015. One of the films selected for screening in the festival’s Main Competition is 11 minut (11 Minutes), the new feature by director Jerzy Skolimowski.

72nd Venice International Film Festival — Main Competition

  • 11 minut (11 Minutes) by Jerzy Skolimowski;
  • Frenzy by Emin Alper;
  • Heart of a Dog by Laurie Anderson;
  • Blood of My Blood by Marco Bellocchio;
  • Looking for Grace by Sue Brooks;
  • Equals by Drake Doremus;
  • Remember by Atom Egoyan;
  • Beasts of No Nation by Idris Elba;
  • Per amor vostro by Giuseppe M. Gaudino;
  • Marguerite by Xavier Giannoli;
  • Rabin, the Last Day by Amos Gitai;
  • A Bigger Splash by Luca Guadagnino;
  • The Endless River by Oliver Hermanus;
  • The Danish Girl by Tom Hooper;
  • Anomalisa by Charlie Kaufman, Duke Johnson;
  • L’attesa by Piero Messina;
  • Francofonia by Aleksander Sokurov;
  • The Clan by Pablo Trapero;
  • Desde alla by Lorenzo Vigas;
  • L’hermine by Christian Vincent;
  • Behemoth by Zhao Liang

11 minut (11 Minutes)

The same eleven minutes in the lives of various protagonists are shown through parallel storylines. Before the last second of the eleventh minute is up, their fates are brought together by an event that will have a huge impact on their lives. The film was written and directed by Jerzy Skolimowski, lensed by Mikołaj Łebkowski, and features performances by Andrzej Chyra, Dawid Ogrodnik, Wojciech Mecwaldowski, Agata Buzek, Jan Nowicki, Piotr Głowacki, Richard Dormer, and Ifi Ude.

International Co-Production Supported by the Polish Film Institute

11 minut (11 Minutes) was made as a co-production between Poland and Ireland. The film was produced by Skopia Film, co-produced by Element Pictures, Telewizja Polska, Orange, HBO and Tumult Foundation. The film was co-financed by the Polish Film Institute, Eurimages, and the Irish Film Board.

Awards for Essential Killing in 2010

At the 67th Venice International Film Festival in 2010, the Special Jury Prize went to Jerzy Skolimowski’s Essential Killing, a film also co-financed by the Polish Film Institute. The Coppa Volpi Best Actor Award went to Vincent Gallo, who played the lead in Skolimowski’s feature. The film also received the 2010 CinemAvvenire Award of the CinemAvvenire association, which selected Essential Killing as the best film of the 2010 edition of the Venice Film Festival.

Polish Films and Co-Productions in Main Competition

In recent years, the Venice Main Competition lineup has featured several other Polish productions and co-productions, including Peter Greenaway’s 2007 film Nightwatching, co-financed by the Polish Film Institute, Krzysztof Zanussi’s Persona non grata (2005), Pornografia (Pornography) by Jan Jakub Kolski (2003), Historie miłosne (Love Stories) by Jerzy Stuhr (1997), Krzysztof Kieślowski’s Trzy kolory: Niebieski (Three Colors: Blue) (1993 – Golden Lion winner), Jeszcze tylko ten las (Just Beyond This Forest) by Jan Łomnicki (1991), Pożegnanie jesieni (Farewell to Autumn) by Mariusz Treliński (1990), Niezwykła podróż Baltazara Kobera (The Tribulations of Balthazar Kober) by Wojciech Jerzy Has (1989), and Rok spokojnego słońca (A Year of the Quiet Sun) by Krzysztof Zanussi (1984 – Golden Lion winner).

Paweł Pawlikowski in the Jury

Members of this year’s Main Competition jury, headed by Alfonso Cuarón, include Emmanuel Carrère, Paweł Pawlikowski, Nuri Bilge Ceylan, Francesco Munzi, Hou Hsiao-hsien, Diane Kruger, Lynne Ramsay, and Elizabeth Banks.

The 72nd Venice International Film Festival runs from September 2 through September 12, 2015.

The festival website is available at: www.labiennale.org.

Translated by Karolina Kołtun, Paulina Bez