Winners of the 23rd Camerimage International Film Festival have been announced. The event was co-financed by the Polish Film Institute.

Golden Frog for Carol

The festival’s Golden Frog grand prize for Best Cinematography went to Ed Lachman, director of photography on Carol, a film directed by Todd Haynes. The Silver Frog award went to Rams cinematographer Sturla Brandt Grøvlen, while the Bronze Frog award went to Mátyás Erdély, director of photography on Son of Saul.

The Main Competition lineup at the 23rd Camerimage Film Festival featured 15 films, which were judged by international jury members Michael Hoffman (chairman of the jury), Reed Morano, Giovanni Ribisi, Timo Salminen, Matthew Libatique, Ryszard Lenczewski, and Salvatore Totino.

Letnie przesilenie (Summer Solstice) Wins Best Polish Film

Letnie przesilenie (Summer Solstice) photo courtesy od Prasa i Film

In the Polish Film Competition, the winner was Letnie przesilenie (Summer Solstice), a film directed by Michał Rogalski and lensed by Jerzy Zieliński. The Polish Film Competition lineup featured seven films, three of which were films by first- or second-time filmmakers. All films screening in Camerimage’s Polish Film Competition have been co-financed by the Polish Film Institute. The Polish Film Competition was judged by jury members John Seale (chairman of the jury), Terry Barrett, Jean-Marie Dreujou, Stephen Lighthill, and Johannes Kirchlechner.

Golden Tadpole and Bronze Tadpole for Polish Student Films

Ameryka (America), photo courtesy of the Krzysztof Kieślowski Radio and Television Department of the University of Silesia

This year’s Golden Tadpole award, the top prize in the International Student Film Competition, went to Bartosz Bieniek, who lensed Ameryka (America), a student film directed by Aleksandra Terpińska, produced at the Krzysztof Kieślowski Radio and Television Department of the University of Silesia. The Bronze Tadpole award went to Damian Kocur, director and cinematographer of To, czego chcę (What I Want). This film was also produced at the University of Silesia.

Feature Length Documentary Film Competition

The lineup of the Feature Length Documentary Film Competition included twelve films from around the world. Special Mention went to Bracia (Brothers) by Wojciech Staroń. The top prize went to The Look of Silence, directed by Joshua Oppenheimer and lensed by Lars Skree. Films in this competition were judged by jury members Joan Churchill, Jan Betke, Łukasz Żal, Giona Nazzaro, and Michael Neubauer.

Further details about other festival awards are available at: www.camerimage.pl.

Marta Sikorska

Translated by Karolina Kołtun