Academy Award Winners Announced

The Academy Awards ceremony is now in the past. The undisputed winner is The Hurt Locker, with a total of six awards, including Best Picture and Best Director. Both awards were accepted by director Kathryn Bigelow.


Avatar suffered defeat; having been nominated in nine categories, the film ultimately won only three Academy Awards – Best Cinematography, Best Visual Effects and Best Art Direction.


One of the nominees for Best Documentary Short Subject was Królik po berlińsku (Rabbit a la Berlin) by Bartek Konopka and Piotr Rosołowski. The Oscar in this category went to Music by Prudence, a film by Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett.


Complete Academy Awards results:

Best Picture: The Hurt Locker
Best Original Screenplay: Mark Boal – The Hurt Locker
Best Adapted Screenplay: Geoffrey Fletcher – Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire
Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow – The Hurt Locker
Best Actor in a Leading Role: Jeff Bridges – Crazy Heart
Best Actress in a Leading Role: Sandra Bullock – The Blind Side
Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Christoph Waltz – Inglourious Basterds
Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Mo’Nique – Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire
Best Foreign Language Film: The Secret in Their Eyes (El Secreto de Sus Ojos) (Argentina) – directed by Juan José Campanella
Best Cinematography: Mauro Fiore – Avatar
Best Original Score: Michael Giacchino – Up
Best Art Direction: Rick Carter, Robert Stromberg and Kim Sinclair – Avatar
Best Costume Design: Sandy Powell – The Young Victoria
Best Editing: Chris Innis and Bob Murawski – The Hurt Locker
Best Makeup: Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow – Star Trek
Best Original Song: “The Weary Kind – theme from Crazy Heart” – Ryan Bingham and T-Bone Burnett
Best Sound Editing: Paul N.J. Ottosson – The Hurt Locker
Best Sound Mixing: Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett – The Hurt Locker
Best Visual Effects: Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones – Avatar
Best Animated Feature Film: Up by Pete Docter
Best Animated Short Film: Logorama by Nicolas Schmerkin
Best Documentary Feature: The Cove by Louie Psihoyos and Fisher Stevens
Best Documentary Short Subject: Music by Prudence by Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett
Best Live Action Short Film: The New Tenants by Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson

Honorary Awards for Lifetime Achievement: Lauren Bacall, Roger Corman, Gordon Willis


Translated by Karolina Kołtun