Adam Bauman awarded with the main prize at Hartley-Merrill competition 2009

A script by Adam Bauman, Potrójna misja (Triple Mission), was awarded the main prize of PLN 20,000 in the Hartley-Merrill Script Competition for 2009. The jury consisted of Joanna Krauze, Jan Dworak, Jacek Fuksiewicz, Jerzy Dzięgielewski, and Marcin Wrona.

The results were announced March 31 at cinema “Muranów” in Warsaw. In this year’s edition, the jury awarded three prizes:

  • The main prize (PLN 20,000, funded by the Polish Film Institute): Adam Bauman for Potrójna misja;
  • Special Award (PLN 10,000, funded by Marshal of Mazowieckie Voivodship): Tomas Świerczyński for Sudoku;
  • HBO Special Award (PLN 5,000, funded by HBO): Bartek Konopka and Piotr Borkowski for Lęk wysokości.

Organized in 21 countries, Hartley-Merrill is one of the most famous and prestigious script competitions in the world. The aim of the award is to encourage young creators to write scripts about universal topics that could interest world viewers. Many works of Hartley-Merrill laureates have been screened, and films produced on the basis of them have garnered numerous awards at world festivals.

In Poland the competition has been taking place since 1992. Texts of Polish scriptwriters taking part in Hartley-Merrill include Bandyta by Cezary Harasimowicz, Stacja by Piotr Wereśniak and Komornik by Grzegorz Łoszewski. Currently three films based on winning scripts are being produced: Moja krew by Marcin Wrona, Z miłości by Anna Jadowska, and Zdjęcie by Maciej Adamek.

The main organiser of the Polish edition is the Andrzej Wajda Master School of Film Directing, The Polish Film Institute is the co-organizer of the event.


Translated by Monika Miziniak | Edited by Patricia Koza