Awards for Abel Korzeniowski

Awards for the world’s best composers of film music were presented at the closing gala of the World Soundtrack Academy, part of the 37th Flanders International Film Festival in Ghent (Belgium). The WSA awards have been presented annually since 2001.

This year’s Discover of the Year Award goes to composer Abel Korzeniowski, who wrote the score to Tom Ford’s feature A Single Man.


The Polish composer also received the Public Choice Award. The Brussels Philharmonic Orchestra performed at the awards gala, playing pieces from all awarded composers.


Below is a list of this year’s WSA award winners:

  • Film Composer of the Year: Alexandre Desplat (Fantastic Mr. Fox, New Moon, Julie & Julia, The Ghost Writer);

  • Best Original Film Score of the Year 2010: Fantastic Mr. Fox – Alexandre Desplat;

  • Best Original Song Written for Film: “The Weary Kind” from the film Crazy Heart – Ryan Bingham and T-Bone Burnett;

  • Discovery of the Year: Abel Korzeniowski for his soundtrack to A Single Man;

  • Public Choice Award: Abel Korzeniowski or his soundtrack to A Single Man;

  • Sabam Award for Best Young European Composer: Karzan Mahmood

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: John Barry

Further details about the World Soundtrack Academy available at:


Translated by Karolina Kołtun