Body/Ciało (Body) in the Running for the EFA People's Choice Award

The European Film Academy has announced the films nominated for the annual EFA People’s Choice Award. Małgorzata Szumowska’s Body/Ciało (Body) is one of 12 nominated titles. The winner will be selected through an online voting process among film fans.

Body/Ciało (Body) Among 12 Nominees

Body/Ciało (Body), a film by Małgorzata Szumowska, will compete for the EFA People’s Choice Award against such acclaimed productions as En man som heter Ove (A Man Called Ove) by Hannes Holm, Kriegen (A War) by Tobias Lindholm, Aferim by Radu Jude, Fuocoammare (Fire at Sea) by Gianfranco Rosi, Julieta by Pedro Almodovar, Mustang by Deniz Gamze Ergüven, Spectre by Sam Mendes, The Danish Girl by Tom Hooper, The Lobster by Yorgos Lanthimos, Le tout nouveau testament (The Brand New Testament) by Jaco Van Dormael and Zvizdan (The High Sun) by Dalibor Matanic.

Voting Until October 31

The online voting process for the EFA People’s Choice Award is open from September 1 to October 31, 2016 on the official website of the European Film Academy at

People’s Choice Award for Ida

In 2014, the EFA People’s Choice Award went to Paweł Pawlikowski’s Ida. The film also received the awards for Best European Film, Best European Director (Paweł Pawlikowski), Best European Screenwriter (Paweł Pawlikowski, Rebecca Lenkiewicz) and Best European Cinematographer (Łukasz Żal, Ryszard Lenczewski).

Jacek Drosio: 2015 Best European Editor

At last year’s edition of the European Film Awards, the award for Best European Editor went to Jacek Drosio for his work on Małgorzata Szumowska’s Body/Ciało (Body). Małgorzata Szumowska herself was nominated for the 2015 Best European Director.

Małgorzata Szumowska’s latest feature has received multiple awards at film festivals in Poland and abroad, including the Silver Bear for Best Director at the Berlin International Film Festival, and the Golden Lions for Best Film at the Gdynia Film Festival.

Polish Films in the Running for 2016 EFA Nominations

Six films supported by the Polish Film Institute are currently in the running for nominations for the European Film Awards.

21 x Nowy Jork (21 x New York), a documentary film directed by Piotr Stasik and co-financed by the Polish Film Institute, is one of 15 documentaries in consideration for nominations for the 2016 European Film Awards.

The list of 50 feature films recommended for a nomination for the 2016 European Film Awards also includes films supported by the Polish Film Institute: Zjednoczone Stany Miłości (United States of Love) by Tomasz Wasilewski, Córki dancingu (The Lure) by Agnieszka Smoczyńska, Obce niebo (Strange Heaven) by Dariusz Gajewski, Ja, Olga Hepnarova (I, Olga Hepnarova) by Petr Kazda and Tomáš Weinreba, and Świt (Ausma / Dawn) by Laila Pakalnina.

The results of the vote by members of the European Film Academy will be announced on November at the Seville European Film Festival. A seven-member jury will decide on the awards recipients for best European cinematographer, editor, production designer, costume designer, hair & make-up artist, composer, and sound designer.

European Film Awards

Presented by the European Film Academy, the most prestigious awards for European films were originally called the Felix awards. The term European Film Awards, sometimes referred to as ‘the European Oscars,’ was introduced in 1997. The location of the awards ceremony changes year by year: in odd years, the awards ceremony is held in Berlin, while in even years it rotates between other major European cities. In 2006, the European Film Awards ceremony was hosted in Warsaw.

29th Edition of the European Film Awards in Wrocław

The winner of the People’s Choice Award will be announced at the 29th European Film Awards ceremony, which will take place on December 10 in Wrocław, the 2016 European Capital of Culture.

EFA official website: