Camerimage on Oscar-Qualifying List

The Plus Camerimage International Festival of the Art of Cinematography has been recognized by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences as an Academy Award-qualifying festival in the Best Short Documentary category.

Recognition for Short Films

As stated by the festival team, winners of the Golden Frog award in the Short Documentary Competition will now qualify for consideration for the annual Academy Awards in the Best Short Documentary category without the standard theatrical distribution requirement, provided that they meet other requirements of the Academy. This special recognition of the Academy creates new opportunities for short documentary films (up to 40 minutes in length) submitted to the Plus Camerimage festival, and serves to confirm the high quality of the festival programme.

New Competition Regulations

“In order to make our selection criteria comply with Academy regulations, we have decided to change the defining line between short documentaries and feature documentaries from 60 minutes to 40 minutes. As of this year, only films of up to 40 minutes in length will be eligible for consideration in the Short Documentary Film Competition. Films with a running time of more than 40 minutes will be eligible for consideration in the Feature Documentary Film Competition,” reads the official statement of the Plus Camerimage team.


The festival team also states that due to the earlier dates of this year’s edition of the festival (November 16-23), film submission deadlines will also be altered accordingly.


Further details available at:


Press release


Translated by Karolina Kołtun