Paweł Pawlikowski’s film received as many as 5 nominations for the Awards of the London Film Critics’ Circle, including the Best Film. The winners will be announced on January 20th.

Five nominations for “Cold War”

The coproduction co-financed by the Polish Film Institute will fight for the title of the best film of the year together with “Roma” by Alfonso Cuaron and “The Favourite” by Yorgos Lanthimos, as well as for the title of the best non-English film. Joanna Kulig was among the best actresses alongside Glenn Close or Olivia Coleman. Paweł Pawlikowski received a nomination for directing, and Łukasz Żal, as the only DoP this year, was awarded in the category that appreciates technical achievements.

The most nominations (10) went to the film “The Favourite”, and the following films received 5 nominations each: “Cold War”, “Roma”, “You’ve never been here” by Lynne Ramsay and “Happy Prince” by Rupert Everett.

The winners will be announced on January 20th during the awards ceremony.

London Film Critics’ Circle

The film section of the Critics’ Club, which exists since 1926, today associates over 120 British film critics. It has been awarding annual prizes since 1990.

In 2014, “Ida” was nominated for awards in three categories: Best Film, Best Foreign Language Film and Best Supporting Actress (Agata Kulesza).

“Cold War”

“Cold War” is a Polish-British-French co-production. The Polish producer of the film is Ewa Puszczyńska from the Opus Film studio, the French producer MK Productions, and the British one – Apocalypso Pictures. The film co-financed, among others, the Polish Film Institute.

“Cold War”, distributed by Kino Swiat, has had over 900,000 admissions to date in Poland and is available on DVD, Blu-ray and VoD services.

The full list of nominees: www.criticscircle.org.uk/the-favourite-leads-nominees-for-critics-circle-film-.