Dragons Go to Oscars

According to information from the Krakow Film Festival team, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has added Krakow’s Silver Dragon awards to the list of awards that enable films to qualify for Academy Award® consideration in the short film category.

A Chance for Oscar Nominations

The Krakow Film Festival has for years been one of the film festivals where the top laurels automatically enable the winning film for Oscar consideration in the short film category. In past years, the winner of the Golden Dragon award, the top prize in Krakow’s international short film competition (which is open to documentary, animated and feature films with a running time under 30 minutes), was automatically given the opportunity to be considered for Academy Award® nominations. Beginning with next year’s edition of the Krakow Film Festivals, the winners of the Silver Dragon Award for Best Short Animated Film and Silver Dragon Award for Best Short Feature Film will be eligible or Oscar noms.

Another Festival on the AMPAS List

This expansion of the Oscar eligibility list is the direct result of Torene Svitil’s visit to Krakow. Torene Svitil is head of the Oscar Office at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, responsible for the Academy Awards for best short feature, best foreign language film, and best documentary. She was one of the members of the short film competition jury at the 52nd Krakow Film Festival. After learning about the programme and the profile of the Krakow Film Festival, she decided to add these two awards to the Oscar qualifying list.

“We are very happy about this form of recognition,” says Barbara Orlicz-Szczypuła, director of the programming office of the Krakow Film Festival. “This serves as proof of appreciation for our continuous efforts to improve the quality of our festival. This is also great news for films participating in the competition; now the Silver Dragon awards can also become a launching pad for an international career.”

First Awards for Various Acclaimed Filmmakers

It is worth mentioning that it was the Krakow Film Festival that brought the first awards in the careers of such acclaimed Polish filmmakers as Roman Polański (Ssaki, 1963) and Krzysztof Kieślowski (Pierwsza miłość in 1974, Życiorys in 1975), and for filmmakers from around the world including Andrea Arnold (Wasp in 2004) and Sergei Loznitsa (Polustanok in 2000).

The Krakow Film Festival is also accredited by the International Federation of Film Producers Associations (FIAPF) and by the European Film Academy (EFA).

Source: www.krakowfilmfestival.pl.

The list of qualifying festivals for the 85th Annual Academy Awards in the short film category is available here: www.oscars.org.

Written by Marta Sikorska based on the press release


Translated by Karolina Kołtun