Polish director Małgorzata Szumowska will sit in the Jury of the Main Competition of the 75th edition of the International Film Festival in Venice which begins on August 29th.

Szumowska will evaluate the latest productions from around the world in a group of nine, including Guillermo del Toro (chairman), actress Trine Dyrholm, director Taika Waititi and actor Christoph Waltz.

Films in Venice will be judged by the Jury in the following composition:

  • Guillermo del Toro, director (chairman)
  • Sylvia Chang, actress and director
  • Trine Dyrholm, actress
  • Nicole Garcia, actress, director and screenwriter
  • Paolo Genovese, director and screenwriter
  • Małgorzata Szumowska, director, screenwriter and producer
  • Taika Waititi, director, screenwriter and actor
  • Christoph Waltz, actor
  • Naomi Watts, actress

More information:

Małgorzata Szumowska

Director, screenwriter and producer of feature and documentary films. Expert of Polish Film Institute (PISF). A graduate of the Lodz Film School. Her etude Silence won over 18 awards at international film festivals, her other etudes and documents were also awarded. Nominated for the European Film Award in the category Discovery of the Year for films Happy Man (2000) and Stranger (2005). A member of the European Film Academy since 2001. Stranger participated in the Sundance main competition, and 33 scenes from life received the jury award in Locarno. Her film with Juliette Binoche under the international title Elles was presented at the Berlinale, in Toronto and at the festival Tribeca in New York.

In 2013, her film In the Name of … was shown at the International Film Festival in Berlin and received the Teddy Award – these awards are given to films that touch the subject of LGBT. In 2015, she won the Silver Bear award for the best director at the International Film Festival in Berlin and the Golden Lions Award of the 40th Gdynia Film Festival for the film Body. In 2016, she received the Polish Film Award for directing the film Body, and in December the same year, the European Film Award in the Audience Award category for the same film. In 2018, at the International Film Festival in Berlin, she received the Silver Bear Award – the Grand Jury Prize for the film Mug.

More information: