Polish Films Run for EFA Noms

W ciemności (In Darkness) by Agnieszka Holland, Róża (Rosa) by Wojciech Smarzowski, and Courage by Roman Polanski are among the 47 films shortlisted for the final nominations for the European Film Awards. The nominees will be selected by members of the European Film Academy.


This year’s awards will be presented on December 1 in Malta. The selection of films competing for European Film Award nominations was announced on September 11 in Berlin. The list features 47 films from 31 countries. The European Film Awards celebrate their 25th edition this year.

Audience Poll

The website of the European Film Academy features an online competition for Best European Film. Voting runs through October 31. Among the twelve titles selected by the Academy for this competition is Agnieszka Holland’s Oscar-nominated film W ciemności (In Darkness).

Voting is open at www.europeanfilmawards.eu.


Nominations for the 25th European Film Awards will be announced in early November.


Written by Marta Sikorska based on the press release


Translated by Karolina Kołtun