"Rebelle" Wins Golden Frog

December 1 brought the closing of the 20th edition of the Plus Camerimage International Film Festival of the Art of Cinematography in Bydgoszcz. The event was co-financed by the Polish Film Institute.


The Golden Frog award went to Nicolas Bolduc – cinematographer of Rebelle, a film directed by Kim Nguyen.


The Silver Frog was awarded to Caroline Champetier – cinematographer of Holy Motors by Leos Carax. The Bronze Frog award went to Touraj Aslani, cinematographer of Rhino Season by Bahman Ghobadi.

Zabić bobra (To Kill a Beaver)

The winner of the Polish Film Competition was Zabić bobra (To Kill a Beaver), directed by Jan Jakub Kolski, lensed by Michał Pakulski, and co-financed by the Polish Film Institute.


The winner of the Feature Documentary Film Competition was Seung-Jun Yi, director and cinematographer, author of Planet of Snails. The winner of the Short Documentary Film Competition was No Peace Without War, directed and lensed by Lorenzo Castore and Adam Cohen.

Short Films

The Student Film Competition jury awarded the Golden Tadpole award to Robert Oberrainer for his work on Blackstory, directed by Christoph Brunner and Stefan Brunner. Robert Oberrainer also received the Polish Filmmakers Association Award for Best Cinematographer in the Student Film Competition.


The winners of the Best Music Video in the Music Video Competition were Roger Ballen, Ninja and Melle Van Essen, creators of the music video for the band Die Antwoord. The winner of the Best Cinematography in a Music Video award was Matthew J. Lloyd for his work on the music video for Flying Lotus.

Best Debut

The third edition of the Directors’ Debut Competition and Cinematographers’ Debut Competition, organized under the auspices of the Polish Filmmakers Association, resulted in a jury verdict awarding Chaika, directed by Miguel Angel Jimenez and lensed by Gorka Gómez Andreu.


The winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award was Wadim Jusow – Russian cinematographer known for his collaboration with Andrey Tarkovsky. The award for Best Cinematographer-Director Duo went to Gus Van Sant and Harry Savides, who passed away last year. The Acting Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Art of Film went to Daniel Olbrychski.


The 20th Plus Camerimage International Film Festival of the Art of Cinematography ran from November 24 through December 1, 2012. The festival was co-financed by the Polish Film Institute.


Translated by Karolina Kołtun