We know the jury of the Krakow Film Festival

Jan Komasa, Leszek Możdżer, Łukasz Żal, Magdalena Łazarkiewicz – are on the jury of competitions of the 60th Krakow Film Festival. The festival, which will last from May 31 to June 7 and in full will be held online began selling tickets. The event is co-financed by the Polish Film Institute.

150 images from around the world, including documentaries and short feature and animated films, will take part in three international and Polish competitions. The jury will be headed by Jan Komasa (Poland) – director, screenwriter and producer, nominated for an Oscar for the film „Corpus Christi” (2019), whose latest image „Hater” won the best international film award at the Tribeca Film Festival. In addition to it, short documentaries, feature films and animations will also be judged by: Marko Škop (Slovakia) – philosopher, screenwriter, director and producer; Dekel Berenson (Great Britain) – director, screenwriter, traveler; Paola Orlić (Croatia) – producer, art historian, curator; Csilla Kato (Romania) – selector, artistic director of the Astra Film Festival in Romania.

Łukasz Żal (Poland), one of the most outstanding Polish cinematographers, will chair the jury of the international documentary film competition. He was nominated for an Oscar twice: for cinematography in „Ida” (2013) and „Cold War” (2018) by Paweł Pawlikowski. Together with him, the documentary jury will include: Renata Santoro (Italy) – programmer and selector of the Venice International Film Festival; Tod Lending (USA) – producer, director and cameraman; Eva Mulvad (Denmark) – director; Martin Horyna (Czech Republic) – journalist, film critic, programmer.

The jury of the international music documentary competition will be chaired by Stephen Nomura Schible (USA) , co-producer of the Oscar-winning film „Between words” (2013) by Sofia Coppoli, whose latest documentary „Ryuichi Sakamoto: Coda” (2017) has won awards around the world. Beside him were also: Rachel Leah Jones (USA / Izrael) – documentary film director, producer; Leszek Możdżer (Poland) pianist, jazz musician, composer.

Magdalena Łazarkiewicz – director, screenwriter and lecturer will be the chairman of the jury of the Polish competition. The other members of the jury are Joanna Szymańska – film producer, member of the Polish Film Institute council; Elwira Niewiera – director, screenwriter; Izabela Plucińska – director of animated films; Paweł Dyllus – cinematographer, director.

International juries (also FIPRESCI and FICC) will select the winners, who will receive prizes totaling PLN 238,000. The program of the jubilee 60th Krakow Film Festival will be published in mid-May. Details here: https://www.krakowfilmfestival.pl/60-kff/