Winners at Era New Horizons

Rain of the Children by Vincent Ward was awarded with Grand Prix at the 8th International Film Festival Era New Horizons.


This is one of the most important international festivals in Poland, and for the past three years it has been taking place in Wrocław. The jury awards the best Polish film from the last season. This year the winner was Goldfish (Złota Rybka) by Tomasz Wolski. The award for the best dèbut went to Andrzej Dybczak and Jacek Nagłowski for Gugara.

“The New Polish Films Competition Award is given for the film’s own language, artistic truth, and great respect towards film characters,” said juror Svetlana Proskurina in awarding the prize to Wolski.
“I am thrilled,” admitted the director. “I would like to thank everyone who helped me in producing this film.”

“The award for the best debut we give to those film, the philosophy of which fully harmonises with the festival’s motto ‘New Horizons’,” said juror Ludmiła Cvikova in congratulating Andrzej Dybczak. “We thank the creator for constant looking for new points of view and courage to express it with film language.”

“This is a remarkable moment for me,” says the director. “I showed my first independent film at Roman Gutek festival in Cieszyn a couple of years ago. Now here I receive my first prize for a professional film.”


Winners at the Era New Horizons Festival



Results of audience voting:


GRAND PRIX – major award of the 8th International Film Festival Era New Horizons presented by the audience went to:


Rain of Children by Vincent Ward, New Zealand 2008




A major award of PLN 100,000 funded by the President of Wrocław. Presented by an International Jury comprising of Ludmila Cvikova, film festival selector from Slovakia, Majid Majidi, film director (Iran), and Svetlana Proskurina, director from Russia, to:


The Goldfish (Złota Rybka) by Tomasz Wolski, prod. Anna Gawlita, Polska 2008


An award for the best debut of PLN 40,000 funded by the Marshall of Dolnośląskie Voivodeship was presented to:


Gugara by Andrzej Dybczak and Jacek Nagłowski, prod. Agnieszka Janowska and Jacek Nagłowski, Poland 2008



Results of the audience voting:


The winner of the award worth PLN 8 000 was:


The Football Father (Henio idziemy na Widzew) by Michał Jóźwiak, Poland 2007


Honours and an award of PLN 2,000 was given to:

Mary and Ann (Maria i Anna) by Jacek Knopp, Poland 2008


In the feature films category an award of PLN 5,000 was presented to:

Aria Diva by Agnieszka Smoczyńska, Poland 2007


Honours and an award of PLN 2,000 was presented to:

New Urban Legends (Nowe legendy miejskie) by Leszek Dobrucki, Maciej Olbrycht, Marzena Popławska, Joanna Pawluśkiewicz, Wojciech Zieliński, Poland 2007


In the animated films category an award of PLN 5,000 went to:

The Splinter (Drzazga) by Wojtek Wawszczyk, Poland 2008


Honours and an award of 2,000 PLN was presented to:

Radostki by Magdalena Osińska, Poland 2008


All awards in the competition Short Polish Films were funded by the Polish Filmmakers Association.

Further information may be found at:


Translated by Monika Miziniak | Edited by Patricia Koza