Winners of the 22nd Camerimage IFF

Mikhail Krichman, Photo by Piotr Szymański, Polish Film Institute


The 22nd Camerimage International Film Festival, an event co-financed by the Polish Film Institute, drew to a close on November 22. The Golden Frog Award for Best Film in Main Competition went to Leviathan, a film directed by Andrey Zvyagintsev and lensed by Mikhail Krichman. The award for Friend of the Festival went to Agnieszka Odorowicz, General Director of the Polish Film Institute.


The awards ceremony was preceded by “Film,” a stage performance by students of the Drama Department of the Warsaw Theatre Academy, directed by Andrzej Strzelecki. The closing gala of the 22nd Camerimage IFF was hosted by Grażyna Torbicka and Zbigniew Banaś.

“A Week of Amazing Meetings”

“What we have behind us is an extremely enriching week of amazing meetings, films, and many interesting seminars,” said Grażyna Torbicka as she opened the awards ceremony in the ten competitions of the 22nd Camerimage festival and thanked the sponsors and organizations that sponsored the festival.

Friend of the Festival Award for Agnieszka Odorowicz, General Director of the Polish Film Institute

General Director of the Polish Film Institute Agnieszka Odorowicz and Camerimage Festival Director Marek Żydowicz. Photo by Piotr Szymański, Polish Film Institute


“The festival has many friends, but among them are those whose advice truly helps us grow. We decided to honor them with a special award,” said festival director Marek Żydowicz as he presented a list of those recognized at previous editions of the festival. “This year we would like to present this award to the General Director of the Polish Film Institute – Agnieszka Odorowicz. She is a person who has changed the face of Polish cinema. We all see how the Polish film industry is changing and Polish films are beginning to succeed abroad. Ms. Odorowicz also appreciates those who help to promote Polish cinema, including film festivals. On behalf of the Camerimage festival team, I would like to say a very special thank you to Agnieszka Odorowicz,” said Marek Żydowicz.


“I am extremely touched, but also very proud to receive this award. The Polish Film Institute has been, wants to be, and will continue to be a partner and a friend to this festival,” said Agnieszka Odorowicz in her acceptance speech.


Other special awards were also presented at the festival’s closing ceremony. Cinematographer Caleb Deschanel received a lifetime achievement award as a cinematographer. The lifetime achievement award for a director went to Philip Kauffman. The Award for an Editor with Unique Visual Sensitivity went to Martin Walsh, while the Award for a Production Designer with Unique Visual Sensitivity was presented to Jeannine Oppewall. This year’s award for special accomplishments in music videos went to Jonas Åkerlund.

Winners of the 22nd Camerimage International Film Festival

Main Competition:

  • Golden Frog: Leviathan – cinematographer: Mikhail Krichman director: Andrey Zvyagintsev
  • Silver Frog: Omar – cinematographer: Ehab Assal director: Hany Abu-Assad 
  • Bronze Frog: Mommy – cinematographer: André Turpin director: Xavier Dolan

Polish Film Competition

  • Best Polish Film: Hardkor Disko (Hardcore Disco) – cinematographer: Kacper Fertacz director: Krzysztof Skonieczny

Student Film Competition

  • Laszlo Kovacs Golden Tadpole Student Film Award: Berlin Troika –cinematographer: Julian Landweer director: Andrei Gontcharov school: Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin – German Film and Television Academy (dffb)
  • Silver Tadpole: Las cieni – cinematographer: Andrzej Cichocki director: Andrzej Cichocki school: University of Silesia, Krzysztof Kieślowski Radio and Television Department
  • Bronze Tadpole: Do You Even Know – cinematographer: Clémence Warnier director: Arthur Lecouturier school: Institut des Arts de Diffusion (IAD)
  • Special Award of the Polish Film Institute and Mastershot for Best Cinematography in the Student Film Competition: Room 55 – cinematographer: James Blann director: Rose Glass school: National Film and Television School (NFTS)

Feature Documentary Film Competition

  •  Golden Frog Grand Prize: Blood – cinematographer: Yura Gautsel, Sergei Maksimov director: Alina Rudnitskaya
  • Special Mention: Monte Adentro – cinematographer: Mauricio Vidal director: Nicolás Macario Alonso

Short Documentary Film Competition

  • Golden Frog Grand Prize: Punkt wyjścia (Starting Point) – cinematographer: Przemysław Niczyporuk director: Michał Szcześniak
  • Special Mention: Shipwreck – cinematographer: Morgan Knibbe director: Morgan Knibbe

Directors’ Debuts Competition

in partnership with the Polish Filmmakers Association

  • Best Directing Debut: Theeb – cinematographer: Wolfgang Thaler director: Naji Abu Nowar

Cinematographers’ Debuts Competition

in partnership with the Polish Filmmakers Association

  • Best Cinematography Debut: When Animals Dream – cinematographer: Niels Thastum director: Jonas Alexander Arnby

3D Film Competition

  • Best 3D Documentary Film: Beyond the Edge – cinematographer: Richard Bluck director: Leanne Pooley
  • Best 3D Feature Film: The Young and Prodigious T.S. Spivet – cinematographer: Thomas Hardmeier director: Jean-Pierre Jeunet

Music Video Competition

  • Best Music Video: DJ Snake & Lil Jon Turn Down For What – cinematographer: Larkin Seiple director: DANIELS
  • Best Cinematography In A Music Video: Paolo Nutini Iron Sky – cinematografpher: Robbie Ryan director: Daniel Wolfe

“European Funds in Focus” Advertising Spots Competition

This competition is organized in cooperation with the Marshall Office of the Kuyavian Voivodship and under honorary patronage of the Ministry of Infrastructure and Development


The jury has decided not to award the grand prize in this category.


Special mention went to the Ministry of Infrastructure and Development for the ad “Historia prawdziwa, część 1” (“True story, Part 1”).


Further details are available at:


Marta Sikorska


Translated by Karolina Kołtun