Winners of the ScripTeast Award 2019

The Krzysztof Kieslowski ScripTeast Award 2019 for the Best Script from Eastern Europe has been presented at the 72nd Cannes Film Festival for the thirteenth time.

FOREVER HOLD YOUR PEACE by Ivan Marinović from Montenegro has won the Krzysztof Kieślowski ScripTeast Award  2019 for the Best Eastern European Script.

The award, including a checque for €10.000, was presented on May 21 this year during the Cannes Film Festival by the ScripTeast Artistic Board: Doreen Boonekamp, Sandy Lieberson, Antonio Saura, Manfred Schmidt, and Simon Perry, along with longtime heads of studies Christian Routh and Tom Abrams.

In their citation, the Artistic Board state: “The script is entertaining and funny, as well as profound. It is an ensemble study of a group of delightfully crafted characters immersed in an increasingly absurd ceremony that reflects ironically on the human condition in an engaging cinematic romp”.

The Artistic Board have also decided to award a Special Mention to STILLBORN, by Lena Gora and Olga Chajdas (Poland) “…for presenting a fascinating account of a turbulent moment in recent Central European history. The writers manage to convey an authentic and rebellious society in which themes of motherhood, family and culture are confronted in a dynamic and energetic fashion”.

The winner was chosen from the 11 screenplays from 9 Central and Eastern European countries that took part in the 13th edition.

Projects featured in the 13th edition of ScripTeast:

  • Chemistry – Adina Dulcu, Romania
  • Forever Hold Your Peace – Ivan Marinović, Montenegro
  • M – Vardan Tozija and Darijan Pejovski, North Macedonia
  • Mother – Zornitsa Sophia i Miglena Dimova-Kumitski, Bulgaria
  • Nightsiren – Tereza Nvotová i Barbora Námerová, Slovakia / Czech Republic
  • Recordings – Diana Groó, Hungary
  • Spinners – Ivars Tontegode and Reinis Ubelis, Latvia
  • Stillborn – Olga Chajdas and Lena Góra, Poland
  • The Night of The Living Toys – Michał Walczak and Maria Wojtyszko, Poland
  • The Pale – Rusudan Pirveli, Georgia
  • The Sibyl – Zuzanna Solakiewicz, Poland

The programme of the 13th edition of ScripTeast began in October last year with a week-long workshop that included individual meetings with world-famous screenwriters, directors and producers, followed by individual online consultations. In February this year, the screenwriters participated in sessions at the Berlinale film festival. The final session of this cycle was concluded during the Cannes Film Festival.

Among the previous recipients of the Krzysztof Kieslowski ScripTeast Award are Benedek Fliegauf  (‘Womb’ – Locarno Festival 2008), Marysia Nikitiuk (‘When the Trees Fall’, Berlinale 2018), and Simeon Ventsislavov (‘Aga’, Berlinale 2018).

ScripTeast is organized by Polish Independent Film Foundation, co-funded by Creative Europe – MEDIA Sub-Programme of the EU, Polish Film Institute, The Ministry of Culture and National Heritage – Found for the Promotion of Culture, Apple Film Production, in co-operation with the European Film Academy, Producers Network, European Producers Club, Transatlantic Partners, ACE – Atelier du Cinema European and Film New Europe.

Press release